Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Sex & Food (Pink Vinyl) (Indie Exclusive)

Availability: In stock

NOTE: THIS IS A PREORDER THAT WILL SHIP TO CLOSE TO THE 4/6 RELEASE DATE. Record stores normally receive these records the week of the release date.  We pack them up and put them out for shipment within the first 24 hours of receiving them but depending on when the mail picks them up and then where you are in the country, you may receive the item on the following Monday or Tuesday. We hope it gets to you by 4/6 but we just want to give you a fair heads up.  Also, preorders are non-refundable (unless we don't receive yours of course in which case we'd refund as soon as we know).

Where are we headed? What are we consuming, how is it affecting us, and why does everything feel so bad and weird sometimes? These are some of the questions posed on Ruban Nielson's fourth album as Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Sex & Food. Recorded in a variety of locales from Seoul and Hanoi to Reykjavik, Mexico City, and Auckland, Sex & Food is a practical musical travelogue, with local musicians from the countries that Neilson and his band visited pitching in throughout. Sex & Food is the most eclectic and expansive Unknown Mortal Orchestra release yet, from the light-footed R&B of "Hunnybee" to the stomping flange of "Major League Chemicals." "If You’re Going to Break Yourself" and "Not in Love We're Just High" chronicle the effects of drugs and addiction on personal relationships, while the lyrics "Ministry of Alienation" drip with modern-day paranoia like the silvery guitar tones that jewel the song's structure. The modern world, and all the thorny complications that come with living in it, loomed large on Ruban's mind while making Sex & Food. Though he's not afraid to get topical throughout, as evidenced on the surprisingly boisterous "American Guilt" or the roomy-disco medication-meditation "Everyone Acts Crazy Nowadays". A statement of selflessness, to be sure-but make no mistake: Sex & Food reaffirms the vitality of Ruban's voice in today’s musical landscape.

Side A Side B
01 A God Called Hubris
02 Major League Chemicals
03 Ministry of Alienation
04 Hunnybee
05 Chronos Feasts on His Children
06 American Guilt
07 The Internet of Love (That Way)
01 Everyone Acts Crazy Nowadays
02 This Doomsday
03 How Many Zeros
04 Not in Love We're Just High
05 If You're Going To Break Yourself
0 stars based on 0 reviews